Blast Wave Compositing Practice

Following on from the Video Copilot blast wave tutorial, I attempted to create an explosion in my driveway in Donegal. The footage is kind of terrible as I don’t have access to a decent camera for filming but it still provided a good challenge for matching the assets to a similar quality, colour and contrast.

Driveway Explosion

The results are quite similar to what I created in the tutorial so now I’m curious about what different types of explosions could look like. I used the Action Essentials 2 pack (from video copilot) to create this so I’m also curious about how I could go about creating my own assets if the story so needed. Also, there’s no camera motion in this so it’s more apparent that the debris is disappearing.

 

Leave a Reply

