Website Research and Feedback

Back when I was beginning to build my website, this was some of the research which I looked at.

Do’s and Don’ts How to Build a Website that Works:

http://www.artbusiness.com/weberrors.html

Website Examples:

David Mattock: http://www.davidmattock.co.uk/

Mattock’s site makes it easy to find his showreel and also clearly shows Mattock’s skills. His contact form has multiple options, giving the impression that he’s easy to keep in contact with. He also has links to his social media pages which makes him more accessible.

Dave Rapoza on carbonmade: https://daverapoza.carbonmade.com/

I like how Rapoza’s portfolio is split into client work and personal projects that he’s worked on. This could work well if I wanted to display myself with general skills e.g. a section for lighting, modeling etc. or if I wanted to show my involvement throughout a single project, from concepts to 3D visualisation. It also links back and forth well with his blog and social media sites. Rapoza’s contact page isn’t as impressive as Mattock’s.

Squarespace: http://www.squarespace.com/tour/artist-websites/

Carbonmade: https://carbonmade.com/

Website Feedback

  • Have a neutral background e.g. grey so as to compliment/not distract from your work.
  • Show your name, email and phone number very clearly.

Class Feedback and Feedback on Edward’s website

This was some feedback that Edward got during class which I also found very helpful for fixing up my own website.

  • On your homepage, have a bit more information straight away.
  • Make your email link clickable. I tried looking up how to do this. Apparently it’s just as simple as adding mailto:me@example .com in html but the link created doesn’t see to open up anything on my laptop
  • Use area codes for your phone number.
  • If any of your videos are private, have the password or an email for contacting below the video.
  • Remove confusing menus from pages.
  • Is there a more important link that you could include than your Facebook? Do you really want this link at all?
  • Test how easy your website is to navigate. Ask other people who haven’t seen it before?
  • Optimise images so that they load quickly. Try Photoshop’s ‘save for web’ button.
  • About page: Put your email here also. Have your email everywhere so that it’s easy to find. Describe what you’re interested in. Your ‘about me’ page should contain anything that will make you stand out to an employer, something interesting about yourself and something that the employer can connect with.
  • Think about tabs on your blog that can also say something interesting about you e.g. a ‘what you’re reading’ tab.
  • Look at your website on all platforms. Is it legible?

I also sent my showreel and website to Iglu Media (who I’m on placement-lite with) for feedback and they were kind enough to get back to me. Mostly my biggest downfall seemed to be my website layout. My front portfolio page was a bit cumbersome to scroll side to side on and it was too easy to miss sections. I found a new theme to make this easier to navigate but I have yet to find a theme were the menus don’t have to be expanded separately at the top.

crowlena.com

Jonny Shields, their art director also suggested that I display my concepts larger for scrolling as I had them displayed in a gallery as small clickable thumbnails. For my showreel, they commented that my subtitles to show what work I had done was nice and clear.

Leave a Reply

