Stoimen Dimitrov Matte Painting Breakdown

This is a breakdown of just a single matte painting but I like how thoroughly it demonstrates Dimitrov’s process.

“Matte Painting Breakdown Reel” – by Stoimen Dimitrov

I’ve been wondering about matte painting recently. Is it just like photobashing except in 3D space and also involving compositing moving assets such as smoke and particles? Is that not just compositing? Usually I avoid using photos in my work because I don’t like the style restrictions (maybe my own skill restrictions too?) plus I enjoy the process of painting. I think that if I learn how to paint with a stronger understanding of reality I could create some fun pieces this way.

Leave a Reply

