Paint Effects City

Week 11

After the grass, rocks and trees, the next challenge to tackle was the city in the distance. To create the impressionistic style of the city from my concept I figured that simple building shapes that could catch the light would be enough. With not a lot of time left, Paint Effects seemed to be the quickest solution, plus I really enjoy how organic the process of distribution feels with Paint Effects. Unfortunately, I haven’t yet been able to figure out a method of distributing my own geometry with PFX so I resorted to using one of the default building brushes from the visor database.

I found that PFX will paint shapes perpendicular to the surface which is made paintable. This was a problem for my city designed on a steep hill and I found that adjusting the elevation produced too random of results (as one stroke had more than one house). I had houses pointing in all directions. I tried stacking planes which intersected the hill and painting on these instead. This method wasn’t perfect as there were some floating houses once I hid the planes but I got away with it seeing as the city was so far away and the style was more abstract than realistic.

Even though I tried to paint only on areas that would be seen, I still ended up with quite a heavy load of building geometry and some excess. After some frustration I remembered file referencing which I realised I haven’t been using enough of in the past. Even with using file referencing though, it still took a long time to load materials and switch between render layers with materials applied. Rendering was extremely quick though. Also, I built this approximately to real life meters which I’m not sure how necessary that was. I thought it might aid the parallax effect if we wanted to test the camera in Maya. Does the size of a polygon influence memory usage or is it just the number of polygons? Probably just the number right?

For shading, I used a ramp shader and directional light set-up similar to what I used for the rocks and played with the hue/saturation/brightness of the incandescence and shadow colour. For the water I used a reflective shader on a polygon plane and for the land I used a second plane placed over this with a transparency map made in Mudbox to indicate the coastal line. The land in particular needs developing. I was planning to make it seem at least more mountainous/hilly and perhaps indicate more forestation somehow.

Some render tests/progress:

Molly painted a sky which I tried adding to the scene also. The area light which I used to light the sky influenced the colours quite bit. I also haven’t added the clouds yet.

I rendered selectable areas for the sky, sea and land for colour correction in After Effects. This is the scene so far. We have yet to play with the characters in the scene and the environment still needs developing.

One thought on “Paint Effects City

Leave a Reply

