Male Figure Drawing

Easter week 01 (March 21st)

For the start of Easter I agreed to focus on William so as to help finalise his design for use in our concepts. This was the first time during the project that the responsibility of developing the characters (on paper at least) fell my way. I found that I haven’t been practicing my figure drawing enough and I wanted to have a strong anatomical foundation from which I could develop William. Because of this, I spent some time trying to refresh/improve my abilities in constructing the male figure and proportions. I’ve been a follower of Loomis’ teachings for a while now and I like to go back to his books when I’m having problems.

Andrew Loomis (1943) Figure Drawing For All It’s Worth

I came across this huge database of character design references on Pinterest also:

Character Design References

It has a lot of useful collections for different anatomy types and demographics. This pin which I found on the male anatomy board was particularly useful as we had discussed the changes that William could go through over the 10 years (keeping them subtle):

male_body_types_tutorial_by_phobos_romulus-d8a930n.jpg

Image by phobus-romulus on deviantArt. Found on Pinterest here: link

 

One thought on “Male Figure Drawing

  1. Pingback: Male Figure Drawing Practice and William Concepts | Natasha Crowley

Leave a Reply

