Gnomon Competition: Space Anomaly

This is my work for the Gnomon January competition, themed ‘space anomaly’.

http://forums.thegnomonworkshop.com/showthread.php?t=8031

My Pinterest boards for study/reference:

Motorcycles and Space Bikes

Space: Suits and Robots

A google slides idea dump:

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1Lt1U-afeOzWgbGtYXsJ1DQAyJ0qipEph46sCcVSVSXM/edit?usp=sharing

Favourite idea: a moon mechanic servicing a robot head moon!

My sketchbook studies of references from Pinterest:

 

My concepts:

 

Progress: line art, colour palette

I’m finding it hard to decide between the more comic look or the one with more rendered light. Either way, it still feels like there’s a lot to improve upon!

Update*

I got some feedback from Sorcha and of course I needed to add more shading to the mechanical moon. It was in the back of my head but I didn’t realise it would make such a dramatic difference.

gnomon_space_oddity_composition_03_PROGRESSb_signed.jpg

Leave a Reply

