Schaeffer Value Study

study_schaeffer_1932_12_goodhousekeeping

Mead Schaeffer and Value Study

I think that looking at other artists’ use of value might help me make more diverse concept paintings. At the moment I feel that I rely on the same value arrangements a lot, with dark in the foreground receding to light. In saying that, I still need to improve on that arrangement also!

Scaeffer study: The light is low contrast but the shapes stand out due to the local values. The two figures strike dramatic silhouettes with their high contrast dark clothes against almost white skin/fur/cloth. The values in the background are made up of lower contrast, smaller and more complex arrangements; this makes the larger block values of the figures stand out. Low contrast details are suggested in low contrast shapes.

Values aside, this proves that I really need to practice my proportions also!

Leave a Reply

