Carapace and Perspective Observation

Carapace is a good free tool for creating perspective grids and it’s also useful for studying other artwork’s/pictures perspective. I had forgotten about it ever since I got my new laptop.

https://epicgames.com/community/2012/11/free-art-tool-released-thanks-to-epic-friday/

I was looking at the student designs of interiors, found on Feng Zhu’s blog, for inspiration:

http://fengzhudesign.blogspot.ie/

 

Looking at these examples, objects are all naturally angled towards different vanishing points. This is something which I haven’t done very often in my own work. More often than not I make 2 to 3 vanishing points and make every object in the scene converge towards this same direction. Scott Robertson has some useful writings on this in his book How to Draw. He describes spacing vanishing points at particular angles and drawing within a ‘cone of vision’ for minimal distortion.

Also, familiar objects like tables and chairs are creating a sense of scale. My room is based on sky creatures so I’ll need to include objects that are recognisable for scale.

Line weight gives the detailed room drawings a clear read. Simple tone also helps the readability.

Leave a Reply

